Lions Medical Research Foundation Scholarships have been offered since year 2000, with $35,000 awarded to recipients. In 2022, the Foundation received 28 scholarship applications, with Emma Cheney the final 2022 recipient.

Awarded 2022 at a reception held at Government House to mark the special occasion at the invitation of Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC and Mr Rod Bunten. In welcoming guests, Her Excellency said, ‘South Australia has long had a tradition of world-leading medical research.
Emma Cheney is a PhD candidate undertaking research into the currently incurable multiple myeloma blood cancer at the University of Adelaide. Multiple myeloma is an incurable blood cancer. Emma is passionate about developing new treatment strategies that improve patient survival and quality of life.

“The work of the Lions Medical Research Foundation, in supporting and assisting the development of ‘home grown’ medical researchers, can not be underestimated. Supporting South Australian academics by offering financial assistance to gain their PhD’s, while remaining in this state, is a large part of the foundations drive to support the health and wellbeing of our community.” – Emma Cheney

Grant Recipient List

Ms Kate Secombe

Awarded 2017
A PhD candidate in the Cancer Treatment Toxicities Group, supervised by A/Prof Joanne Bowen, Dr Janet Coller and Prof Rachel Gibson. She is investigating chemotherapy-induced gastrointestinal injury

Ms Krystyna Gienic

Awarded 2017
A PhD candidate from SAHMRI’s Gastrointestinal Cancer Biology Group (supported by the Cancer Council SA’s Beat Cancer Project)For her project researching the activated stromal signature of colorectal cancer.

Ms Emma Akers

Awarded 2017
A PhD candidate from SAHMRI’s Heart Health Theme for her project researching the role of lipids in vascular calcification and atherosclerosis.

Dr Zlatko Kopecki

Awarded 2020
Previous NHMRC ECR Research Fellow (2012-2015) and a current Foundation Fellow (2015-2020) at the newly established Future Industries Institute, developing novel therapeutics for wound repair and working on understanding the mechanisms involved in wound healing, scar formation and fragile skin syndromes. Research involving skin blistering diseases, cell adhesion, tissue regeneration, skin cancer and fibrosis as well as industry driven research questions. Integration of different approaches and biomaterials for the development of novel wound dressings. Use of small and large animal models of wound healing, carcinogenesis, infection and skin blistering. Aim to use these models and knowledge gained to develop potential new therapies for the treatment of wounds to help improve the repair process.

Dr Carmine De Pasquale

Awarded 2000-2002
Heart and Lung Research Associate Professor Carmine De Pasquale. Heart Failure / Clinical Cardiology

Ms Bakhita Hassan

Awarded 2003 – 2004
Upper airway obstruction in infant breathing

Dr Andrea Dewar

Awarded 2003 – 2005
Leukaemia Research

Dr Andrew Philpott

Awarded 2003 – 2005
Mechanics and Prevention of Nitrate Tolerance

Dr Nitin Gupta

Awarded 2006 – 2011
Upper airway obstruction in infant breathing

Ms Sarah Carter

Awarded 2007 – 2012
Combination strategies for the treatment of prostate cancer

Dr Nuan Truong

Awarded 2008 – 2012
Neuronal cell death in neurodegenerative diseases

Ms Stacey McCallum

Awarded 2012 – 2014
Alcohol Dependence and Anxiety

Mrs Rebecca Harper

Awarded 2012 – 2014
Pulmonary hypertension

Dr Rajeev Kumar Pathak

Awarded 2012– 2014
Studies in obesity

Dr Tiger Zhou

Awarded 2015 – 2017
Genetic causes of glaucoma

Rajev Ratnavadivel

Awarded 2006 -2008

“By supporting our best and brightest young medical scientists we are investing in healthy futures not only for our own community, but around the world where needs are pressing.”

Her Excellency the Honourable Frances Adamson AC